PHYLLIS ODESSEY

share and share alike

sharing_0The sharing economy is under debate. Enthusiasts swear its all about empowerment. Detractors say its predatory.  I don’t have a dog in this fight.  I’ve used Uber, Zipcar, Craigslist and Ebay.  I am writing this blog, because I can’t figure out why almost every profession has a p2p (peer to peer) platform,  but not the world of horticulture.  I’ve begun to wonder why.

AR-150109995

Do you see a trowel, shovel, plant or greenhouse in the above diagram?   Gardener friends have told me the reason horticulturists have missed out on the “sharing” economy is an age thing.  I beg to differ.  As a boomer myself (as are many of my colleagues), we were precursors of the “sharing” economy…just in a different way.  We lived on communes, started food coops, bartered goods and services.  What we didn’t have to facilitate all these efforts was the internet.  The digital world came after.

3022028-inline-3022028-slide-slide-16-1024

If there was a “sharing” site for gardeners, landscape designers, landscape architects, horticulturists, what would it be?  There are tool libraries, errand sites, but what services or other kind of assets would be valuable to us? If you would like to SHARE… write me.

 

n.

Leave a Reply

