PHYLLIS ODESSEY

between a rock and hard place

lichen or leave it. Plants in Iceland are challenged or more precisely,  I am challenged identifying them.  The beauty of plants that cling to rocks, especially black lava is especially intense.  I broke down and bought Flowering Plants and Ferns of Iceland by Horour Kristinsson to help me identify so many plants I saw, but could not identify.  If I misidentify a plant, please let me know.

The most notorious plant in Iceland:  Nootka Lupin (Lupinus nootkatensis)
It’s everywhere… along highways, one can see fields of this lupin.

White Currant (Ribes x pallidum) a shrub with woody stem and branches. Part of gooseberry family, it is easily recognized from all Icelandic native plants, as it differs from other cultivated currants by the middle segment of the blade being longer than broad.

Who knew that that Lady’s mantle would be so common in Iceland.  Hairy Lady’s Mantle (Alchemilla filicaulis) is everywhere in sheltered placews in slopes, grasslands, ravines.  

Shady Horsetail (Equisetum pratense) Common in dry pastures and heathland, also as undergrowth in woodland.

Moss Campion (Silene acaulis) Located on hills and rock ledges and poor pastures.

Wild Pansy (Viola tricolor) or Heath Dog-violet (Viola canina)  I am going for Heath Dog because its common to dry open slopes, pastures and heathland, which is where I saw this plant.

Marsh Saxifrage (Saxifraga hirculus) Moist soils and bogs, moist riverbeds, damp, open soil or mossy cliffs.

I am going with Sea Rocket (Cakile maritima subsp. islandia)  Sandy beaches along the south and west coasts; which is exactly where I saw this plant.

and… stuff I love…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

